Home FEATURES Ex PDP National Chiarman, Modu Sheriff Leads 2019 Buhari Support Committee

Ex PDP National Chiarman, Modu Sheriff Leads 2019 Buhari Support Committee

Ali Modu Sheriff

The Presidency has announced the name of the former Chairman of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Ali Modu Sheriff as the Director General of Buhari 2019 Presidential Support Committee.

The Committee is believed to be different from Buhari Campaign Organisation (BCO) which recently appointed the Minister of Transport, Rotimi Amaechi, as the Director General while Human Rights Lawyer, Festus Keyamo (SAN) was appointed as the spokesman and Director, Strategic Communications.

The Modu Sheriff-led body has a list of 35 members of the Support Committee, 10 members of National Advisory Committee and five members of National Patrons with President Muhammadu Buhari as the Grand Patron.

A popular Kano musician, Dauda Rara is the National Director of Music while a Nollywood Actor and Lagos lawmaker, Desmond Elliot is the National Publicity Secretary even as Chief of Staff to the Imo State governor and governorship aspirant of APC, Uche Ugwumba Nwosu is the National Secretary.

Senior Special Assistant to the President on Political matters, Gideon Sammani, who made these known in a statement today, Friday, said: “prominent individuals were selected after the APC National Convention to build on the momentum of the success to step up preparation within the hierarchy and ranks and file of the party to fully support President Muhammadu Buhari to continue with his programmes and policies for the upliftment and advancement of the country with the manifesto of the APC.”

See also:  Presidential Poll: Nigerians face A Choice Between Progress And Return To Dead Past - Tinubu

Sammani who is also the facilitator of the President Support Committee under the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation said: “in preparation for the reelection of President Buhari in 2019, the Presidential Support Committee, Buhari 2019 has appointed eminent Nigerians to the National Working Committee of the organization.

“The prominent individuals have been selected from Buhari Support Group in their own rights as loyalists.”

The Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Dr Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and Alhaji Mamman Daura all make up the National Patrons of the Committee.

Members of the National advisory committee are: Senator M.T Mbu, Senator Yerima Bakura, Senator George Akume, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, Senator Ita Giwa, Hon Gudaji Kazaure, Hajiya Ireti, Alhaji Ismaila Isa Funtua and Senator Abu Ibrahim.