Home SPORTS Siasia Picks 20 U-13 Players For Korea

Siasia Picks 20 U-13 Players For Korea

SiasiaHead Coach of the Nigeria U-23 team, Samson Siasia has selected 20 players made up of 12 home -based and eight overseas –based professionals for next month’s Suwon Invitational Tournament in Korea Republic.

The list is dominated by players who featured against the Brazil U-23 in a friendly in that country two months ago, which Nigeria won 1-0. Two new faces; Emiloju Julius and Abdulrahman Taiwo break into the team, even as winger Saviour, Godwin also makes a return to the team after a long absence.

Addressing the players after its friendly game at the practice pitch of the National Stadium, Abuja, Coach Siasia charged those selected for the trip to see it as an honour. “That you were selected does not mean that those not selected are not good. We simply want to give everyone enough opportunity to justify why they should be part of the team to the Rio Olympics.”

To those who were dropped, Coach Siasia told them not to see themselves as not being part of the plans of the technical crew, but a clarion call to work even harder, as the team will be going to the United States of America for its final camping exercise where the best will be selected for the Olympics.

See also:  Nigeria Pound Equatorial Guinea 6 - 0 In African Women Cup Of Nations

The delegation of 20 players and 10 officials will be led by NFF Executive Committee member and Chairman of the NFF Media and Publicity Committee, Hon. Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande. The group is expected to depart Nigeria for Korea Republic on Monday, 30th May aboard an Ethiopian Airline flight, and arrive in Seoul on Tuesday.


  1. Emmanuel Daniel
    2. Yusuf Mohammed
    3. Emmanson Daniel
    4. Sincere Seth
  2. Ndifreke Effiong
    6. Segun Oduduwa
    7. Stanley Amuzie
  3. Julius Emiloju
    9. Erhun Obanor
  4. Saturday Erimuya
    11. Azubuike Okechukwu
  5. Usman Mohammed
    13. Stanley Dimgba
  6. Sodiq Popoola
  7. Saviour Godwin
    16. Taiwo Awoniyi
    17. Ubong Ekpai
    18. Abdulrahman Taiwo
    19. Nathan Oduwa
    20. Tiongoli Tonbara. [myad]