Home NEWS POLITICS APC Recommends Expulsion Of Suspended Govs Okorocha, Amosun To NEC – Spokesman

APC Recommends Expulsion Of Suspended Govs Okorocha, Amosun To NEC – Spokesman

The National Publicity Secretary of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Malam Lanre Issa-Onilu has said that the National Working Committee (NCW) of the party has recommended to the National Executive Council (NEC) for the expulsion of governors Rochas Okorocha of Imo State and Ibikule Amosun of Ogun State.

The National Working Committee of the party had, after a meeting presided over by the National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, in Abuja on Friday, announced their suspension of the two governors and others for alleged anti-party activities.The two others that were suspended are the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Usani Usani and the Director General of Voice of Nigeria, Osita Okechukwu.

The suspended members had variously claimed that the party had yet to write to inform them of their suspension from the party.

But the APC spokesman said that writing those who were suspended was not a precondition for their suspension, adding: “we don’t have a timeline to write them, the important thing is that they are suspended. It (writing) is not a precondition.”

See also:  Nnamdi Kanu's IPOB Has Spoilt Chances Of Igbo Presidency Of Nigeria - Dukpesi

He said that the party’s NEC meeting would hold bery soon but that there is no date yet.

“The time for NEC meeting has not been fixed. The party will have to agree on the time before the notice of meeting is sent out.”

Article 25(B) of the APC constitution states: “The NEC shall meet every quarter and or at any time decided by the National Chairman or at the request made in writing by at least two-third of the members of the NEC provided that not less than 14 days notice is given for the meeting to be summoned.

(ii) Without prejudice to Article 25(B)(i) of the constitution, the NWC may summon an emergency NEC meeting at any time, provided that at least seven days notice of the meeting shall be given to all those entitled to attend.

Leave a Reply