Home NEWS Tinubu Floors Osinbajo, Amaechi, 10 Others To Clinch APC Presidential Ticket

Tinubu Floors Osinbajo, Amaechi, 10 Others To Clinch APC Presidential Ticket

Sen. Bola Tinubu

Former Governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has emerged the Presidential candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), having defeated the incumbent Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, immediate past minister of Transport, Rotimi Amaechi and ten others.

Tinubu, with 1,217 votes, gave a distant gap to the first runner-up, Amaechi who gathered 316 votes and Osinbajo came third with a total vote of 235. Former Governor of Imo state, Rochas Okorocha got zero vote despite that 81 delegates came from Imo State.

Also the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, who was earlier floated by the party’s National chairman, Abdullahi Adamu as consensus candidate before the primary election got a total of  152 votes while the Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello got 47 votes as Governor Ben Ayade of Cross River State got 37 votes, even as Senator Sani Yerima got four votes.

Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu and Emeka Nwjiuba, immediate past ministers in the Muhammadu Buhari’s government got one vote each as Pastor Tunde Bakare, Ikeobasi Mokhelu, Jack Rich Tien and Senator Rochas Okorocha obtained zero vote.

See also:  Kuje In Tension: Boko Haram, Robbery, Other Detainees Escape From Attacked Prison

Earlier in the Special National Convention of the party, which lasted three days at a stretch, seven aspirants, including Governor Fayemi Kayode of Ekiti State stepped down for Tinubu.

Leave a Reply