Home FEATURES Buhari Invites All June 12 Heroes For Conferment Of Honours In Abuja

Buhari Invites All June 12 Heroes For Conferment Of Honours In Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari has formally invited all the heroes of the Jue 12, 1993 elections, mostly in the defunct Social Democratic Party (SDP), to Abuja for conferment of honours and conviviality.

In a message today, Friday, by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Gida Mustapha, the President Buhari said that he would use the opportunity of the gathering at the International Conference Centre in Abuja, to make good, his pronouncement of June 12 as the Democracy Day and confer the Grand Commander of the Federal Republic (GCFR) posthumously on the acclaimed winner of the June 12 Presidential election, late Chief MKO Abiola.

Others to be honoured are Chief Gani Fawehinmi and Ambassador Babagana Kingibe with the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON).

“Accordingly, Ambassador Babagana Kingibe, the family of the late Bashorun M.K.O. Abiola and that of Chief Gani Fawehinmi.

The key players in June 12 struggle who are invited to the occasion are members of the National Executive Committee of the SDP, including States Chairmen and Secretaries at the time of June 12, 1993, Governors elected under SDP platform, former Senate Presidents, Iyorchia Ayu and Ameh Ebute  as well as Speaker Agunwa Anekwe along with Principal Officers of the National Assembly elected under SDP platform.

See also:  Buhari Appreciates Nigeria Army’s Prompt Response To security Threats

Others are Speakers of the States Assembly elected under SDP platform, all Chairmen of the States traditional Councils from the six South-Western States, Professor Wole Soyinka, Mr. Femi Falana (SAN), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Chief Bisi Akande, Ms. Ayo Obe, Bayo Onanuga of the The News magazine, Kunle Ajibade of Tempo magazine, Nosa Igiebor of Tell magazine and Kayode Komolafe of the Media Hope 93.

Director General of Hope 93, Senator Janathan Zwingina, Comrade Frank Ovie Kokori, Professor Humphrey Nwosu as well as the present Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, Speaker Yakubu Dogora, Principal Officers of the National Assembly, members of the Federal Executive Council and all State Governors are also invited. [myad]