Home NEWS 2015 Poll Jonathan, Buhari Committee Plans Big For May 29 Presidential Inauguration

Jonathan, Buhari Committee Plans Big For May 29 Presidential Inauguration

buhari and jonathan

President-elect, General Muhammadu Buhari of All Progressives Congress (APC) will be ushered into office before and on May 29, with special prayers by Muslims and Christians across the country, in addition to an inauguration dinner.

This was announced today, by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Senator Anyim Pius Anyim shortly after a joint committee of the outgoing and incoming government met at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, to discuss issues that will ensure a smooth transition.

Anyim who is co-chairman of the committee told newsmen that it was resolved that activities lined up for the inauguration would include press briefing, Jum’at prayers, inter-denominational church service, inauguration dinner, swearing-in ceremony, and a gala night.

He said that the committee planned a one-week programme of activity, adding that sub-committees have been created to focus on each activity.

“The co-chairmen and members of the sub-committees may now or later take their turns in briefing the public on their activities.”

Members of the Anyim led committee include; Chief of Defence, Air Chief Marshall, Alex Badeh; Ministers of the Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed, Water Resources, Sarah Ochekpe, Aviation, Osita Chidoka, Culture, Tourism and National Orientation, Edem Duke, Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Akon Eyakenyi, Foreign Affairs, Aminu Wali, Interior, Abba Moro, office of National Security Adviser, Bello Fadile, IGP Solomon Aresa, Minister of State Defence, Austin Akobundu, Commander Brigades of Guards, A. B. Omozoje, and Mrs. Ibukun Odusote, Permanent Secretary, Presidency (Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation).

Members of incoming government are Timipre Sylva, (co-chairman), Pius Akinyelure, Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Sharon Ikeazor, Tony Anwuka, Kawu Baraje, John Shagaya, Hadiza Bala-Usman, Babagana Kingibe, Ismaila Funtua, Senator Binta Masi Garba, Babachir Lawal and Samson Osagie. [myad]


Leave a Reply