Home NEWS Abuja Embraces Community Policing, Minister Inaugurates Advisory Committee

Abuja Embraces Community Policing, Minister Inaugurates Advisory Committee

FCT MInister, Muhammad Musa Bello

The Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja, has embraced the concept of community policing, as the minister, Malam Muhammad Musa Bello inaugurated an advisory committee, headed by the FCT Commissioner of Police, Bala Ciroma.

Inaugurating the 17-member committee today, June 1 in Abuja, the minister advised members to be non-partisan in the discharge of their duties, reminding them that the concept of community policing was anchored on a premise of trust between the people and security agents. A trust which, he said, must not fall short if the objective of the policy is to be achieved.

“Once there is a trust deficit in any guise or form, the workability of this policy becomes highly diminished and we would have lost a great opportunity in improving the security profile of the Territory.”

The minister said that in selecting those that will serve as members of the special constables, the committee must be fair, just and equitable.

Muhammad Musa Bello said that those selected should be provided with basic training required for the job, even as he advocated a robust feedback and monitoring mechanism on the performance of those appointed to assigned tasks within the communities.

He also called for the confidentiality of investigations and protection of informants.

An Assistant Inspector General of Police in charge of Community Policing, Bala Senchi gave an overview of the functions of  State Community Policing Advisory Committees, saying that it is the highest advisory body on community policy in a state.

See also:  We Issued 2.7 Million Passports In 2 Years, To Address Shortage - Interior Minister

According to him, the implementation of the policy will be cascaded down to the grassroots through the State Community Policing Committee, Area Command Community Policing Advisory Committee, Local Government Community Policing Advisory Committee, the Divisional Community Policing Committee and the Special Constabulary.

Members of the FCT State Community Policing Advisory Committee are CP Bala Ciroma as Chairman, the Ona of Abaji, Adamu Baba Yunusa; Senator Phillip T. Aduda – Senator representing the FCT,  Rev. Dr Samson Jonah- Chairman, FCT Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), Dr Tajudeen M.B Adigun- Chairman, FCT League of Imams Initiative; The Commander, Army HQ Garrison, Abuja; The Commander, Guards Brigade, Abuja; The Commander, Naval Unit, Abuja; The Commander, 053 NAF Camp, Abuja and State Director, Department of State Service, Abuja.

Others are the Comptroller,  Nigeria Correctional Services; the Commandant, NDLEA, FCT; Command; the Commandant, NSCDC, FCT Command; the Comptroller, Nigeria Immigration Services, Abuja; the Sector Commander,  FRSC, FCT Command; the Director Security Services Department, FCTA and Chief  Bolaji Adigun – Chairman, Police Community Relations Committee.

Leave a Reply