Home NEWS Gov Wike Angry With Chairmen Of 12 Local Govts, Moves To Sack...

Gov Wike Angry With Chairmen Of 12 Local Govts, Moves To Sack Them

Governor Nyeson Wike of River State

For alleged failure to attend official functions, the Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike, is angry with chairmen of 12 local governments in the state and has notified the state House of Assembly of his intention to suspend them.

In a letter to the Speaker of the House of Assembly titled: “Notice of suspension of the chairmen of 12 local government councils chairmen,” the governor said that his intended action is based on Section 64 (3) of the Rivers State Local Government Law No. 5 of 2018.

“I hereby serve you notice of the suspension of the following 12 local government councils chairmen for security reasons for approval and ratification.”

The affected chairmen are Philemon Kingolo (Okrika), Tom Aliezi (Emohua), Daniel E.O. Daniel (Abua/Odual), Tony Phimoore (Degema), Lahteh Loolo (Khana) and Paul Kobani (Gokana).

Others include Ben Eke (Ahoada East), Samuel Nwanosike (Ikwerre), Philip Okparaji , Paul L. Paul (Andoni), Christian Nwaiwu (Omuma) and Erasmus Victor (Ogu/Bolo).

See also:  Oyo Court Gives NUJ Greenlight To Go Ahead With Its National Confab

The governor informed the state Assembly that in accordance with proviso (a) to Section 64 (3) of the Rivers State Government Law of 2018, he had directed the vice chairmen of the mentioned local government councils to act during the period of the suspension.

Leave a Reply