Home NEWS HEALTH Vice President Osinbajo Heads Committee To Reform Nigeria’s Health Sector

Vice President Osinbajo Heads Committee To Reform Nigeria’s Health Sector

President Muhammadu Buhari and his Vice, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed his second in command, Professor Yemi Osinbajo to head the nation’s Health Sector Reform Committee.

The committee, according to a statement today, September 6 by the senior special assistant to the president on media and publicity, Malam Garba Shehu, will commence the development and implementation of a Health Sector Reform programme for Nigeria in collaboration with the State Governments and the FCT administration.

“This is sequel to a Health Sector Diagnostic Review Report developed by a consultant, Vesta Healthcare Partners and the Federal Ministry of Health.

The statement said that the committee will undertake a review of all healthcare reforms adopted in the past two decades and lessons learnt and factor them into the development of the new Health Sector Reform Programme.

The statement said that members of the committee are drawn from private and public sector health care management professionals, development partners, representatives from the National Assembly as well as the Nigeria Governors Forum among others. It has six months to complete the assignment.

Other members are Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State; Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Honourable Minister of Health; Mr. Alex Okoh Director General BPE; Prof. Ibrahim Abubakar, a Professor in Infectious Disease Epidemiology at University College London and Director of the UCL Institute for Global Health; Mr. Babatunde Irukera, Director General, Federal Competition and Consumer  Protection Council; Senator( Dr)  Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe;  Dr. Adedamola Dada;  Dr. Sani Aliyu;  Dr. Mairo Mandara; Dr. Haliru Yahaya, Emir of Shonga;  Professor Uche Amazigbo ; Director Hospital Services, Federal Ministry of Health; Dr Faisal Shuaib; Prof Nasiru Sambo; Dr Ifedayo Morayo Adetifa; Dr Gambo Aliyu;

See also:  Muslim-Muslim Ticket: It’s Been Emotional Situation For Me - Tinubu

Others in the committee are Dr. Betta Edu (Chairman Nigeria Health Commissioners Forum representing National Council on Health); President Nigeria Medial Association;  President Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria; President National Association of Nigeria Nurses & Midwives;  President Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria ; Mrs Temi Marcella Awogboro ; Dr. Muhammad Sadiq;  Dr. Azubike Tagbo and  World Health Organization, Nigeria.

Vesta Healthcare Partners and Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation are to serve as resources persons and have observer roles in the committee.

The statement said that President Buhari has also approved the appointment of Dr. Ifedayo Morayo Adetifa as the new Director General of Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC). The President named him as a member of the health reform committee.

Leave a Reply