Home NEWS NEC Sets Up Committee To Address Grievances Of EndSARS Protesting Youths, Others

NEC Sets Up Committee To Address Grievances Of EndSARS Protesting Youths, Others

The National Economic Council (NEC) has set up a committee to address the deeper issues behind the EndSARS protests and its fallouts in many parts of the country.
The committee which emanated from an emergency meeting of the NEC, is to engage the youths, representatives of Civil Society Organizations, religious and traditional leaders on employment, social safety net programmes and national unity among other key issues of concern.
Members of the Committee are governors representing the six geopolitical zones and is being chaired by the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo.
The NEC meeting today, October 26, was attended by State Governors, Federal Capital Territory Minister, Central Bank Governor, Inspector General of Police, representatives from the Military, the Directorate of State Security and the National Human Rights Commission.
Members of the committee are
a. Governor of Sokoto State
b. Governor of Borno Statae
c. Governor of Niger State
d. Governor of Ondo State
e. Governor of Ebonyi State
f. Governor of Delta State
The Committee which is to commence work immediately will develop a comprehensive framework under the auspices of the Council that would coordinate joint actions and steps to be taken by both the Federal and State Governments to examine the fundamental issues underlining the protests and arrive at effective solutions, including how to enhance Nigeria’s national security.
While supporting President Muhammadu Buhari’s commitment to a complete overhaul of the nation’s security services, NEC also commended the Nigerian Police and Security agencies for their handling of the disturbances in some States of the Federation while also noting its unequivocal belief that most members of the Nigerian security personnel are law abiding and are capable of restoring law and order in the country.
Editorial Staff at Greenbarge Reporters is member of a team of journalists led by Editor-in-Chief, Yusuf Ozi Usman.

Leave a Reply