Home NEWS New Osun Gov, Adeleke, Goes Gaga; Sacks 12,000 Worker, 3 Traditional Rulers,...

New Osun Gov, Adeleke, Goes Gaga; Sacks 12,000 Worker, 3 Traditional Rulers, Others


Barely 24 hours after he was sworn-in as the sixth Governor of Osun State, Ademola Adeleke has sacked a total of 12,000 workers and ordered the dethronement of three monarchs.
The Governor announced the sack of the State’s Independent Electoral Commission’s Chairman, Segun Oladitan and his members.
The Governor also nullified the appointment of 30 Permanent Secretaries and suspended the chairman and members of Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC).
The affected monarchs include Akinrun of Ikinrun Oba Yinusa Akadiri; Aree of Ire Oba Ademola Oluponle and Owa of Igbajo, Oba Gboyega Famodun.
He also ordered the monarch to vacate the palace, asking security operatives to take over.
The purge is contained in a statement today, November 28, by the Chief Press Secretary to Adeleke, Malan Olawale Rasheed, indicating that the new Governor signed the Executives orders which covered chieftaincy matters, appointments issues, setting up of review panel, staff audit and employment matters.”
The statement reads in part: “All employments in the service of Osun State Government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals after July 17th, 2022 be and are hereby nullified.
“Executive Order number five on Chieftaincy Affairs and appointment of traditional rulers. All appointments of traditional rulers made by Osun State Government after 17th July, 2022, are hereby ordered to be reviewed to ensure there was strict compliance with due process of chieftaincy declarations and native law, custom and tradition relating to such chieftaincies. In the case of Ikirun, Iree and Igbajo, to avoid further breakdown of law and order, the appointments of Akinrun of Ikinrun, Aree of Ire and Owa of Igbajo are hereby put on hold pending review. Subsequently, the palaces of Akinrun of Ikirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo should remain unoccupied, while security agencies are hereby ordered to take charge.”
Recall that Adeleke’s predecessor, Governor Adegboyega Oyetola employed over 12,000 workers and appointed 30 permanent secretaries shortly before he handed over to Adeleke yesterday, November 27.
Another statement by the Secretary to Osun State Government, Tesleem Igbalaye, also announced the suspension of the chairman of the Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC), Segun Oladitan and its members.
Others are: Yusuf Oyeniran, Suibat Adubi, Prince Yinka Ajiboye, Abosede Omibeku, Dosu Gidigbi, and Wahab Adewoyin.
The statement noted that the suspension was sequel to several petitions bothering on financial impropriety, dereliction of duty, absenteeism and abuse of office against the said Chairman and members of the Commission.
Source: The Eagle online.

Leave a Reply