Home NEWS POLITICS PDP Board Of Trustees Worry Over Growing Number Of Presidential Aspirants

PDP Board Of Trustees Worry Over Growing Number Of Presidential Aspirants

Chairman of the Board, Senator Walid Jibrin

The Board of Trustees of the Peoples Democratic Party has expressed worry over the growing number of presidential aspirants in the build up to the 2019 elections.
Chairman of the Board, Senator Walid Jibrin told newsmen today, Thursday that the challenge facing the party now is how to manage the situation in a way that it will not run into crisis after one of the aspirants emerges as the party’s presidential flag bearer.
“The BoT deliberated on the current situation in the party. We also discussed about the number of our presidential aspirants.
“We are recommending that we have to manage the situation very well,  so that it does not lead to crisis.  The presidential aspirants are 13. We are trying our best to ensure that the number is reduced.
“But we are not forcing anybody.  More consultations are ongoing among the elders.  We are going to bring out a committee that will be best for Nigerians.
” We are forming a committee to meet with the aspirants.  After that, we will decide on what to do.  We have decided to firm a special committee to advise the National Working Committee.
“If you are a member of BoT, you remain as a member of BoT and conscience of the party. They should not move about with any aspirant.
” If we are really conscience of the party, we should not move about with aspirants. That was what happened during the last national convention when we elected the national chairman.
“Some of us went and pitch camp with aspirants, taking them all over the place. This time, we will not allow that to happen.
“Anyone of us who move about with any aspirant should resign from the BoT. We are the one that will settle the complaint.
“But if we are involved it will not be fair. So we have told the members not to campaign with the aspirants; we are also the delegates.”  ‎
The party’s presidential aspirants as at today are a former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar;  a former Governor of Kano State, Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso;  Governor of Sokoto State, Aminu Tambuwal;  Governor of Gombe State, Ibrahim Dankwambo and a former Governor of Sokoto State, Attahiru Bafarawa.
Also in the race are a former Minister of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Relations, Alhaji Kabiru Turaki  (SAN); a former Governor of Kaduna State, Senator Ahmed Makarfi;  a former Governor of Kano State, Ibrahim Shekarau; a former Governor of Plateau State, Jonah Jang and Dr. Datti Baba-Ahmed,  amongst others.

Editorial staff
Editorial Staff at Greenbarge Reporters is member of a team of journalists led by Editor-in-Chief, Yusuf Ozi Usman.

Leave a Reply