Home NEWS POLITICS Zamfara Government Announces Defection Of APC Council Chairmen To PDP

Zamfara Government Announces Defection Of APC Council Chairmen To PDP

Government of Zamfara State under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has announced that eight out of the fourteen Local Government Area Council chairmen of the All Progressives Congress (APC), in the State have joined the PDP.
A statement today, February 8 by Zailani Bappa,Special Adviser on Media to Governor Bello Matawalle, said that the defectors included the chairman of the state’s branch of the Association of Local Government Chairmen of Nigeria (ALGON) and Chairman of Birnin-Magaji local government, Alhaji Muhammad Umar.
Others are the ALGON vice-chairman and Chairman of Maru local government, Alhaji Salisu Dangulbi and the association’s Secretary and Chairman of Bukkuyum local government, Alhaji Nasiru Zarumi.
The statement said that the defectors include Chairman of Anka local government and PRO of the association, Alhaji Ahmed Balarabe, Chairman of Kaura-Namoda local government, Alhaji Lawal Abdullahi.
It said that Chairman of Maradun local government, Alhaji Shehu Faru, as well as the chairmen of Bungudu and Tsafe local governments, Alhaji Abduaziz Nahuche and Alhaji Aminu Mudi respectively, also dumped APC.
The statement said that the development was the outcome of a meeting the chairmen held with the governor in Gusau, quoting Balarabe as saying that their decision to join the ruling PDP was due to “Matawalle’s leadership style in restoring peace and tranquility to all parts of the state within a short period of time.”
Editorial staff
Editorial Staff at Greenbarge Reporters is member of a team of journalists led by Editor-in-Chief, Yusuf Ozi Usman.

Leave a Reply